

Neale Daniher AM: 2016 Melburnian of the Year

Saturday, 12 November 2016

Lord Mayor Robert Doyle tonight named Neale Daniher AM as the 2016 Melburnian of the Year at the annual Melbourne Awards Gala Ceremony at Town Hall.

Neale played for the Essendon Football Club and was coach of the Melbourne Football Club for nine years. As a footballer and a coach he won praise for his attitude and actions on and off the field.

Diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease (MND) in 2013, Neale has worked tirelessly to raise funds and awareness about the disease and is the patron and vice-chairman of the Cure for MND Foundation.

Lord Mayor Robert Doyle said it gave him great pleasure to present Neale Daniher with the city's highest accolade.

"Neale is a remarkable Melburnian who embodies the purpose of these awards," the Lord Mayor said.

"On behalf of all Melburnians, I congratulate Neale and acknowledge his determination and drive to help others and raise funds for vital research into Motor Neurone Disease."

"It is not just the fundraising and awareness campaigns that make Neale an ideal Melburnian of the Year: it is the way he has galvanised the community to get behind a most worthy cause."

In 2016 Neale received a Member of the Order of Australia award for his work with MND and has been the driving force behind campaigns such as *Freeze at the G* and *Daniher's Drive*, events that raise millions of dollars for research each year.

"It's a great honour to receive this award. Melbourne is the most liveable city in the world, a brilliant town and I love the people here," Neale said.

The Melbourne Awards also celebrated the contribution that eight corporations and community organisations have made to the city's success.

The independent judging panel for the 2016 Melbourne Awards included 53 business and community leaders across a range of industry sectors.

For more information about the Melbourne Awards winners, please visit: <u>www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/melbourneawards</u>



2016 MELBOURNE AWARDS WINNERS

The **Melburnian of the Year** Award recognises and rewards an individual who has made an outstanding achievement in their field, while significantly contributing to the Melbourne and greater Victorian community.

2016 Melburnian of the Year

Neale Daniher AM Patron and Vice Chairman, Cure for MND Foundation



The **Contribution to Profile** category celebrates projects or activities that have built Melbourne's reputation as a centre for business, sport, entertainment, knowledge and culture. These initiatives may have delivered economic benefit to the city, strengthened Melbourne's profile by generating national and/or international media exposure, or encouraged visitation to the city.

Contribution to Profile by a Corporation

WINNER: Victorian Opera

Contribution to Profile by a Community Organisation

WINNER: Melbourne Festival

The **Contribution to Community** category is awarded to organisations or projects that enhance the lives and wellbeing of residents and workers through new approaches to community services and volunteer work, improvements to accessibility or the development of programs that provide support and positive outcomes for the disadvantaged or vulnerable in the community.

Contribution to Community by a Corporation

WINNER: Herald Sun / CityLink - Run for the Kids



Contribution to Community by a Community Organisation

WINNER: Creativity Australia

The **Contribution to Environmental Sustainability** category recognises projects or activities that create a more environmentally sustainable city through advancements in sustainable innovation and design, the development of new environmental projects, or programs that educate, connect and inspire others to change community behaviour.

Contribution to Environmental Sustainability by a Corporation

WINNER: Zoos Victoria

Contribution to Environmental Sustainability by a Community Organisation

WINNER: Market Forces

The **Contribution to Multiculturalism** category recognises projects or activities that have contributed towards developing Melbourne as a multicultural city. This may include programs or initiatives that promote racial harmony and cultural understanding, improve community relations, or provide support to migrants and refugees living in the community.

Contribution to Multiculturalism by a Corporation

WINNER: Indian Film Festival of Melbourne

Contribution to Multiculturalism by a Community Organisation

WINNER: The Huddle

For more information about the Melbourne Awards winners, please visit: <u>www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/melbourneawards</u> or call 9658 8642.

ABOUT THE MELBOURNE AWARDS

The Awards honour a diverse range of contributions, focusing on individuals, community organisations and corporations who work tirelessly for the benefit of the city. Highlighting these achievements inspires and challenges others to help create a better future for Melbourne.

Winners are selected through an independent judging process, which connects entrants with industry leaders and professionals who often become champions for the achievements they witness.

Four areas have been identified by the City of Melbourne as vital elements for securing Melbourne's future as a thriving, forward-thinking capital city; honouring significant contributions to Melbourne's multiculturalism, environmental sustainability, community and profile. Within each of these areas, winners are recognised in two separate divisions resulting in a total of eight award categories.



An inspirational individual within the Melbourne community is also honoured as the 'Melburnian of the Year'. The recipient will be selected by a committee of notable Melburnians appointed by the Lord Mayor.

Past winners of the Melburnian of the Year include:

- Bryan Lipmann AM Founder and CEO, Wintringham Specialist Aged Care
- Professor Sharon Lewin Leading research scientist on HIV and AIDS
- Major Brendan Nottle Salvation Army
- Michael Gudinski AM Founder, Mushroom Records
- Harold Mitchell AC Founder, Harold Mitchell Foundation
- Jim Stynes OAM Co-Founder, Reach and AFL great
- Susan Barton AM Director and Founder, Lighthouse Foundation
- John Bertrand AM Chairman, Alannah and Madeline Foundation, Winning America's Cup Skipper
- Lyn Swinburne AM Founder, Breast Cancer Network Australia
- Ron Barassi AM AFL legend
- Andrew Gaze AM Australian Olympian.